Archives > Archived Topics

Discussion Just Looking for ideas

(1/2) > >>

BobA:
I'm have lived a Nomadic life living in a custom showhauler (RV) for the last 15 years and love the life style.  I'm a pastry chef.  I mostly do seasonal work and will move somewhere to work for 6 to 9 months and them move back to the east coast for the winter.  I have been on the winning team of a few competitions and the primary chef in the top 10 of a few pastry competitions.

2018 in early I got divorced, no kids, and she was cheating on me.

Late 2019 my dad got sick and died.  I bought a duplex near my brother and remolded the one side for my mom and got her moved in.  I remodeled the other side for my brothers family and moved from his apartment.  I'm still living in the driveway as we get all the odds and ends finished.  I have been working part time as a baker for the last 14 months.

The only real jobs that I'm finding for 2021 (in the US) are in Alaska so far.  I'm not sure I want to work in Alaska again.  With the uncertainty from COVID it looks like a lot of the higher end seasonal jobs are going to get filled by locals this year.

I'm not near any good jobs that I want to work.
I'm kinda in a rut and have not been happy for the last 9 months or so.

I'm open for any advice. 

Ready2Transform:
That's a toughie, BobA! It's great that you've had a lifestyle you love, though. Being mobile really does give you options (I hope, even in the age of COVID!).

I know some high end chefs selling their meal plans online, and sometimes doing the meal prep and delivery for private clients. Just throwing that out there. It's not my field, but I do marketing and content creation and love brainstorming, so I'm happy to jump in with a few things that come to mind. I don't know how entrepreneurial you might want to go, but the food truck industry still seems to be pretty strong here in the midwest.

BobA: